Dallas Dance Music - Dallas nightlife, music, tickets, and more

Go Back   Dallas Dance Music - Dallas nightlife, music, tickets, and more > The Main Room > Music / DJ / Producer Talk
Connect with Facebook

Music / DJ / Producer Talk Music discussion, talk about it all here. No genre wars please!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-02, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Sona
Guest
 
Sona's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
is this a scam!!???

Ok, I was on the djcentral messageboard and someone posted this link to a website called www.dancedjsonline.com. They claim to market your demo(online and offline) and guarantee you paying gigs for a registration fee of $30. I wanna know, has anyone ever used their services, and if so, did you get booked. Cause this sounds like a scam to me.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-02, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Sweet Imperfection's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: St Louis
Posts: 3,944
Sweet Imperfection is bootleg
sounds shady to me
__________________
I would rather live my life as if there is a God and die to find out there isn't, than live my life as if there isn't a God and die to find out there is. -sk
Sweet Imperfection is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-02, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
abcdabcd
Guest
 
abcdabcd's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
I don't know how reliable it is, they've only got 3 people it seems so far (U.S.). I don't see how they can guarantee you a gig, unless they are the ones that are going to book you for their own show. It seems kinda weird that they're guaranteeing that somebody else is going to book you for their party. They don't even know how good you are or anything, what if you suck? Nobody throwing a party is going to book you then. Then they say they aren't going to take any commission, like agents do for finding you work. That means they are only relying on the registration fee for income. So, it's probably a scam. But who knows? e-mail the people on the webpage that have signed for their service and ask them if they've been booked. Then again if it's really a scam those people that they have on there might be working for them or the same people running the site. I'm not gonna do it, it takes hard work to make it...no shortcuts. If you've got real talent I'm sure somebody's gonna find you. If it was that easy then everybody would do it.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-02, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Sona
Guest
 
Sona's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah.. I think it is a scam
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-02, 01:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Property of Karen
 
Dionysos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 18,913
Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!
I would ask for references and statistics before dropping a dime. Find out if they have some reputable partners/affiliates, and find out how many hits their site gets on an average month. These guys have had the domain for 4 months now, so either they're just now getting the ball rolling or they're bad at promoting themselves. If it's the latter, you can imagine their promoting capabilities for you if they can't use it for themselves.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karen
Sure... he's the God of my bedroom... but not DDM
Quote:
Originally Posted by darki View Post
It's been a long while since I've gotten to hang out with Johnny, but he speaks truth. It's always "cut to the bone, now here's some vodka" around him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trike View Post
So the lesson here is that Jonny dressed in a cow suit is inherently more dangerous than an actual terrorist
Dionysos is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-02, 06:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Professional Expert
 
AzNxJuNgALiSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas(Lower Greenville)
Posts: 2,026
AzNxJuNgALiSt is bootleg
It's not a scam, they've booked me twice already. I'm gonna spin happy hardcore at a funeral. and today I'm spinning at a bar mitzvah! sweet!!! j/k
__________________
~Sean Hawkins
214.418.1484
Black people like me.
AzNxJuNgALiSt is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-02, 06:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Sona
Guest
 
Sona's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
LoL..thats phucking hilarious
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-02, 06:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Leo
Mother Lover
 
Leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Plano
Posts: 3,227
Leo is still bootleg
Quote:
Originally posted by RosebudProd
I would ask for references and statistics before dropping a dime. Find out if they have some reputable partners/affiliates, and find out how many hits their site gets on an average month. These guys have had the domain for 4 months now, so either they're just now getting the ball rolling or they're bad at promoting themselves. If it's the latter, you can imagine their promoting capabilities for you if they can't use it for themselves.
Had Jonny taken his own advice 2 months ago, he'd be $30 richer today.
__________________
- Leo
{insert r4V3 affiliation here}

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash View Post
can you imagine being 30 something and swinging glowsticks at an afterparty all dicked up on meth?

rofl
Leo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-02, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Property of Karen
 
Dionysos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 18,913
Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!Dionysos is DISCO!!!
Quote:
Originally posted by Leo


Had Jonny taken his own advice 2 months ago, he'd be $30 richer today.
Nah, I would have spent it on Harry Hines anyway.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karen
Sure... he's the God of my bedroom... but not DDM
Quote:
Originally Posted by darki View Post
It's been a long while since I've gotten to hang out with Johnny, but he speaks truth. It's always "cut to the bone, now here's some vodka" around him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trike View Post
So the lesson here is that Jonny dressed in a cow suit is inherently more dangerous than an actual terrorist
Dionysos is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
no new posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16